12 results in 0.0072 seconds.
Keywords
Members
Tags
  •  

• Mtbj
    started a topic welding 3/8" aluminum channel

welding 3/8" aluminum channel

I have a job coming up where I have to weld some 3" X 1.5" aluminum channel. I have a dynasty 200 and have both argon and argon helium 25/75 tanks.

I know I can do the job if I use 1/4" channel. I'd like to use 3/8" channel but I have never tried welding it before and...
    See more | Go to post

• aluminum alloy / temper chart or book.

I'm pretty good with filler metals. What I'm never sure of is what alloys are better for bending and which are better for structures. I'll check out the Alcoa handbook.
    See more | Go to post

Leave a comment:

• Mtbj
    started a topic aluminum alloy / temper chart or book.

aluminum alloy / temper chart or book.

Does anyone know if there is a book or chart that will detail the properties of all the different aluminum alloys with all the t designations? Properties I am looking for are things like bendability, strength etc.

If the book has all the metals and not just aluminum even better.
    See more | Go to post

• Mtbj
    replied to fuel tank
    fuel tank

I was thinking of using 5052 sheet with 5356 filler metal. Any suggestions?
    See more | Go to post

Leave a comment:

• Mtbj
    replied to fuel tank
    fuel tank

It's a small outboard for a canoe. When it is removed for transport the vent must be closed so the fuel won't spill.
    See more | Go to post

Leave a comment:

• Mtbj
    started a topic fuel tank

fuel tank

I'm going to fab a fuel tank for a small outboard engine. I am trying to find a weldable filler neck and cap. Cap needs to have a vent that can be shut off. Any suggestions on where to purchase.

Also any tips on what kind of aluminum and filler would be best. I'm thinking of using 1/8"...
    See more | Go to post

• Mtbj
    started a topic welding ford e250 exhaust pipe.

welding ford e250 exhaust pipe.