14 results in 0.0067 seconds.
Keywords
Members
Tags
  •  

• jtn
    started a topic Weld example feedback

Weld example feedback

Hi folks, I'm about to do a bunch of repetitive welds and wanted to get you all's feedback on some of the welds I've done so I don't trash the project with poor welding technique. I'm largely self-taught and would appreciate any advice that would help improve my welds (I thought I was doing really...
    See more | Go to post

• jtn
    replied to Red/brown mild steel finish?
    Thanks for the great feedback folks -- here's a pic of some of the methods I tried (L to R: gun metal blue from metal finishes plus, antique pewter from metal finish supply, the DIY hydrogen peroxide-vinegar-salt mix, plain vinegar, muratic acid, and naked on the far R)

See more | Go to post

Leave a comment:

• jtn
    replied to Red/brown mild steel finish?
    That's exactly what he described -- when you say weak acid, do you mean lemon juice or some melt-your hands stuff diluted with water? I've usually just painted my projects, so please excuse the basic questions. Where would I get that sort of acid, anyway?
    See more | Go to post

Leave a comment:

• jtn
    started a topic Red/brown mild steel finish?

Red/brown mild steel finish?

Hi folks,

Looking for input on how to get a particular red/brown/light rust finish on a fence project.

I talked to a guy at a local art fair who had a similar finish and he said he used an 'acid bath' to get an even, light rusting. I've tried leaving test pieces out...
    See more | Go to post

• jtn
    started a topic Fence jig advice

Fence jig advice

Hi folks,

I'm starting work on a fence that replicates the one pictured below, and thought I'd ask you all for some advice (it's my first fence and I've only been welding part time a couple of years).

I was thinking of making 10-ft sections (these in the pic are 9ft), and...
    See more | Go to post

• jtn
    replied to Plasma cut feedback