Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How to make miter cuts beyond my chop saws capability?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to make miter cuts beyond my chop saws capability?

So as stated in a previous thread, I am going to build some car service ramps. The only problem is, the acute angle at the bottom left below requires 2 cuts that are beyond my saws capabilities. My chop saw (Evolution RAGE2) can go up to 45* miter cuts. Since I’m trying to achieve an overall angle of 25*, I will need two 77.5* cuts. So even it I use my protractor to mark the cuts, I would not be able to use my chop saw. Or is there something I’m not thinking about? Or do I use my oxyacetylene torch? Or jig saw? I hope my sketch below makes sense, the parentheses are what I would have to set the saw at to achieve my cuts since a 90* cut on the saw is actually marked as 0*. So how do I attack this? I’m new to fabrication and this problem is stumping me. I’m using 2x2 angle. Help?
    Attached Files

Zip disc and a grinder. Take you a few minutes, go slow and cut straight. You’ll be surgical precision with that grinder before you know it.

Comment

That’s a good idea too, I hadn’t thought of that but I do have plenty of experience with it. My calculations are correct then?

Comment

I don’t know, I tried to look at the sketch but I get an error message saying it’s an invalid file. Don’t over-think things. You’re building ramps for your car, not parts for the space shuttle.

Comment

With that Evolution 2 and a 15" blade you can cut just about any angle or compound angle you need with extreme accuracy if you have the room.....

2x2 angle should be easy with the basic 14" blade...........in these pictures I'm compound mitering 2x4x.188 rectangular tubing.........now I say extreme accuracy cause it's what I desired to put the pieces all back together on a chassis I did. Probably not necessary for most projects. Click image for larger version