Pontoon build

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pontoon build

A while back I posted about wanting to build pontoon boats. Ive decided I'm not going to build complete boats (for now anyways) but a lot of people in my area did express intetest in buying just pontoons, or maybe a kit or build up to the deck. Being that I'm just starting out my welding shop and things are slow Ive decided to jump into it. Its been a learning experience for sure, and I'm trying to develop methods, fixtures, etc to speed up the process. I bought a slip roller thats probably a tad undersized for the job. The pontoons sections came out barrel shaped due to the rolls deflecting. Ive been doing some reading and have a few ideas to hopefully improve on that for the next batch. The hardest part of this by far has been building the nose cone. Still not totally satisfied with the shape so it will take more expirimenting on the next one. Another tough part is fitting the tube sections togethor. Ive tried a few different things but its still a little tricky. My wife has been helping out with the fit up and such. I appreciate her help but she's no fitter haha. Im wanting to get away from the need for a helper by developing various jigs and fixtures.

FusionKing I know your the pontoon man so give me some tips on building these things haha.
    www.silvercreekwelding.com

Miller Trailblazer 325 efi
    Miller extreme 12vs
    Thermal arc 186 ac/dc
    Lincoln power wave 455m/stt with 10m dual feeder

I remember. Our Buddy in BC making progress. Looks like your making progress. Not with your photography, building pontoons, lol. Close ups and higher res..
    Look at you going strong and hard. Jumped in and like most, discovered the work involved before figuring out some of the make it easy methods.

"The pontoons sections came out barrel shaped due to the rolls deflecting."