Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie with welding questions

Hey all,

I'm totally new to the welding world, and I have an idea I was wanting some info on.

One of my hobbies is making maille (as in chain maille) for rennaisance festivals and the like. My idea was to weld each of the rings closed individually as I think that would look better and may be easier than riveting.

As to the welding part, I'm not really sure what I would need to do so. Specifically, I would like to be able to butt weld several different kinds of materials (not at the same time) using one welder, and I think that some form of resistance welding would work best. The materials to be welded would be aluminum, copper, galvanized steel, mild steel, stainless steel, or possibly titanium. The specific alloys vary because of the different applications and suppliers I work with, though they are usually the most common for each respective metal.

What I would really prefer to be able to do would be to attach an electrode to either side of the gap in the ring, flip a switch, and be done with the welding part. I know things are not that simple, but I would like to get as close to that as possible, and if need be I have the resources at hand to build a custom welder.

I realize this is a very open ended request and any help would be appreciated.

warrior ........................

go to your local welding shop and get a MILLER catalog or check out the site and check out "spot welders". you put a piece of metal in between the two tongs, press a button and zap! It's welded. The tongs and tips come in different variations. you would probably use a standard or a flat tip. I don't know if a spot welder would work for you. you'll have to check it out. now here is the downfall......