Made My First Tig Weld Tonight

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Made My First Tig Weld Tonight

I finally bought some filler for my tig today, so tonight I hooked everything up and give it a try. I really think I'll like it, my first weld to me really didn't look too bad. There are lots for me to learn though, but with a little time and practice all will be good.
    My machine is a Miller Syncrowave 250DX. The plant I worked at closed down earlier this year, they allowed us to bid on equipment so I bought the welder and some other equipment. I have only only watched tig welding a little back when I was a union carpenter and we would build scaffolding for pipe fighters. I've been welding since I started high school (farm Boy) and about six years ago I bought a MM210 with a spool gun. I didn't have a stick welder and always wanted to try tig so I bought this welder. I was the only person to ever use it, and I probably didn't burn three pounds of rods with it. So I knew it was a good machine, plus I only gave $1003 for it and all of the accessories.
    I need to learn where to position my self to be able to see the puddle and also learn when to add filler. Tonight I really couldn't see a puddle develop. And yes I did dip the tungeston in the weld a few times, it was fun though. I really like to build stuff and learning new things along the way.
    Any tips will be appreciated.
    Justin

Wow, you got a screamin' deal!

Post up some pics of your welds!

Comment

Good deal

Great price on the Syncrowave. We all love pictures around here, post some so we can see your progress as you learn and maybe tell you what you are doing wrong, or right for that matter. Dave
      If necessity is the Mother of Invention, I must be the Father of Desperation!

sigpicJohn Blewett III 10-22-73 to 8-16-07
      Another racing great gone but not to be forgotten.http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...modified&hl=en

Comment

OK here's my ugly first, and my welders.