Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tungsten Life

Hey All,
    Im fairly new to the TIG game. Ive been burning up my Tung's practicing. A touch here, a touch there. Ultimately I need to repoint after each episode.
    So my question is:
    When is a tungsten electrode no longer usable? I mean, How short can it be before you need to replace it?

Thanks guys and This place is great! A wealth of Knowledge!
    Will it weld? I loooove electricity!

Miller 251/30A spool
    Syncro200
    Spectrum 625
    O/A
    Precix 5x10 CNC Router12"Z
    Standard modern lathe
    Cheap Chinese mill that does the trick... sort of...
    horizontal 7x12 bandsaw
    Roland XC540 PRO III
    54" laminator
    hammer and screwdriver (most used)
    little dog
    pooper scooper (2nd most used...)

as long as its large enough to clamp into the torch it can be used. many cut them down small to start with to use the flush back cap to allow it to fit into smaller spaces.
    you can also order them pre-ground in almost any size. the 7" is just the basic starting point for the long back cap and as such the longest lasting.
    thanks for the help
    ......or..........
    hope i helped
    sigpic
    feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. [email protected]
    summer is here, plant a tree. if you don't have space or time to plant one sponsor some one else to plant one for you. a tree is an investment in our planet, help it out.
    JAMES

Comment

tungstens at the ready

Like Fun said, as long as it is secure in the collet, and sticking out far enough, you are good to go.

I too am new to the TIG game, and got tired of spending more time waiting to use the tungsten grinder in class than actually TIG welding. I now use a Dremel tool with a diamond wheel at home to sharpen them. I purchase tungstens by the 10-pack and sharpen them all at once. That way I can crash the tip, swap it out, and crash it again, with great efficiency...
      Dynasty 200 DX