X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jpmassey
    • Aug 2008

Cracks in Aluminum Weld

I've welded up my gas tank, and when I pressurized it up to check for leaks, I split a weld open. I've also noticed that cracks form very easily in other projects with just a bit of applied stress.

Specs:
    .125" 5052 AL
    4043 filler
    TIG, 100% argon

Whats going on?
  • shoprat
    • Aug 2003

alum. cracks

hey jpmassy i am not an expert but i would try 6061 with that filler or try
    5051? with 5000series alum. i am sure that someone with more exp. will jump in and we can both learn a new tip! good luck shoprat

Comment

• dseman
      • Nov 2007

Lots of good information from alcotec (bought out by esab):

"Alloys possessing from 1% to 2.5% magnesium, such as 3004 and 5052, are very sensitive to cracking when using base alloy filler. Alloys with 3.5% magnesium and more exhibit low sensitivity to weld cracking. The use of a 5% magnesium content filler, such as 5356, to weld 5052 can provide a higher magnesium percentage in the diluted weld metal and reduce sensitivity to weld cracking. The more magnesium an aluminum magnesium alloy contains, the less likely it is to crack; thus, the high magnesium content fillers 5356, 5183, and 5556 are commonly used to weld both wrought and cast aluminum magnesium base alloys."

Use 5356 next time.

-dseman

Comment

• superdave99gt
        • Aug 2008

I have an overflow tank from canton that cracked just like that
        mm 210
        dynasty 200dx

Comment

• griff01
          • Dec 2007

Originally posted by jpmassey View Post
          I've welded up my gas tank, and when I pressurized it up to check for leaks, I split a weld open. I've also noticed that cracks form very easily in other projects with just a bit of applied stress.

Specs:
          .125" 5052 AL
          4043 filler
          TIG, 100% argon

Whats going on?
          The picture appears to have very little filler and a bunch of contamination.

Griff