X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • woogawelder
    • May 2007

I want to be my own boss!!!!

Ill be graduating from welding school this coming fall. Now some might say I'm jumpin on this too quick but if I dont do it now I never will. I wanna start just a normal portable business. There arent many portable welders in this area so I think it will work. Ive already got paperwork in for grants to cover start up costs. Now what I need help with is findin a decent truck and trailer. I think Ive got a pretty good idea of the machinery I need but the vehicle is a different story. The way I figure you other entrepenures(spelling) probably went through this too. Any advice on manufacturers or retailers would be so greatly appreciated. Good day!
  • MAC702
    • Sep 2002

Grants for starting up a business?

Anyway, I just listed my 96 Dodge 1-ton diesel on eBay. I've been using it for a welding truck for two years. E-mail me with any questions about it. I also still happen to have the trailer I built for it, but wound up putting all the equipment on the truck after using the trailer for a year.

Comment

• HMW
      • Mar 2006

Can you find enough work right off to support yourself? Most guys usually get a job as a welder and do it on the side too. Then when they get enough work they move over for themselves.

Good luck and congratulations on the welding school
      Scott
      HMW [Heavy Metal welding]

Comment

• MD Welding
        • Sep 2005

As much as I hate to say it, get jobs and make contacts. You can never have enough. I can't imagine ever hiring anyone.

Mike MD Welding & Fabricating
        Mike
        MD Welding & Fabricating L.L.C.
        [email protected]

Comment

• woogawelder
          • May 2007

MD Welder