Need Help With Aluminum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help With Aluminum

We got three new ambulances in at work with the wrong oxygen brackets in them. They sent us the correct ones but, the holes that are drilled in the aluminum diamond plate hit where the new bracket is welded. I need to make plates that have a bolt threaded into it to mount the brackets. I have never worked with aluminum and really want to make sure it is done right.

Question 1: What is the best way to cut aluminum without a plasma cutter, Grinder, jigsaw or sawzall?

Question 2: I know you have to clean aluminum very good. What is the best method?

Question 3: When I thread the Grade 8 bolt into the plate, should I use a anti-corrosive to keep the two metals from reacting (i.e. Noalox)? I know we had to when I was an electrician to keep the aluminum wire from reacting and corroding with the terminals.

Thanks

Question 1: What is the best way to cut aluminum without a plasma cutter, Grinder, jigsaw or sawzall?
    Jigsaw or Sawzall are fine, Grinder... not so much. A traditional grinding disc on Al. is a bad thing.

Question 2: I know you have to clean aluminum very good. What is the best method?

Question 3: When I thread the Grade 8 bolt into the plate, should I use a anti-corrosive to keep the two metals from reacting (i.e. Noalox)? I know we had to when I was an electrician to keep the aluminum wire from reacting and corroding with the terminals.
    Noalox will work fine. Because it's not current carrying, it won't be too bad of an issue anyway, but I would probably use a dab of Noalox just in case.

Comment

stick a thin cut-off disk on an angle grinder and it will cut right thru it.
      Welders do it hotter!!
      www.Munsonworks.com

Comment

Thanks for the help.

Comment