self employed welders

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• self employed welders

hi again been a while.in regards to coalsmokes post(union/non)i am also trying to start a business and other than pipeline work is ther other options?i am in the operating engineers(not working)and am a welder in a shop(steel workers)but this company is not a good place to be and i think there is going to be a layoff soon.i am not certified and never needed to be,been there 3yrs,turned 50 this year and i am fed up.i the 49ers o/e union doesnt have any rigs or really use any welders except for the mechanics truck and i am not a mechanic.so i was wondering what else i could look into.i have not worked in the 49ers since 03 when i got layed off.decided to try welding as i had done a little at home and i was tired of driving trucks.miss the big money though!anyways thanks and sorry for the ramble,i just hate to have to strat all over at another co. shoprat happy new year?

If you have a area of welding skill that you are good at this would be where I would start.
    For instance if you are good at welding steel with stick then it would be hard to overlook a mobile welding/repair set-up.This is wanted everywhere, people always want you to come to them. I have always felt that I could litterally go anywhere and make it just by going in and talking to people and leaving my card with them. I let them know that I picked them for a reason and felt they was the type of customer I was looking for. I also let them know that I would not quit stopping by unless they gave me work or told me to get lost. Also I let them know that if they didn't like it (my work)it was free! (no takers yet)
    I come along behind a string of bad welders in my area that gave us all a bad repution...It was hard to get my foot in the door, but people talk! If your HONEST and you show up ON TIME, that may factor in more than you know.