How to weld SS exhaust piping?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to weld SS exhaust piping?

Hi, this is my first project using my Tig welder. ITs a TA-185. I would like to know how I should setup my machine and any tips in welding. The pipes are 2.5" and 3" SS 304 16 gauge. What are the recommenadtinos?

Also any tips on Aluminum?

I am in a hurry so I don't have time to practice. I've only miged before. Should I just have someone weld for me? Could I do the SS welding and have someone else do the Aluminum?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
    Marco

Originally posted by POLOLOUS
    Hi, this is my first project using my Tig welder. ITs a TA-185. I would like to know how I should setup my machine and any tips in welding. The pipes are 2.5" and 3" SS 304 16 gauge. What are the recommenadtinos?

I am in a hurry so I don't have time to practice. I've only miged before. Should I just have someone weld for me? Could I do the SS welding and have someone else do the Aluminum?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
    Marco
    You've already answered your own question: "Should I just have someone weld for me?" Without a doubt, YES!
    hre

Comment

I was pretty sure, just needed back up, lol. What method or way would be best to setup my exhaust piping for the welder? I need to have very little error in the piping. Should I use duck tape to hold to pieces togethor?

Comment

Or should I be able to atleast tack weld the pipes togethor that I need? I know I can't fully weld and seal them like they have to be. But I should be able to easily tack weld them every inch or 2? No?

Comment