• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Welding 1/2" Stainless

Hi,

Those of you who know me, do from my first Thread Here:
    http://www.millermotorsports.com/mbo...ead.php?t=5135

Then you also know that I am just starting out.

A friend approached me with a project... Making a Stainless Steel Grate for supporting Coal in an oven. The coal burns at extreme Temps, so I figure 316L is the way to go... Since it is Low Carbon, and won't combine with the Chromium to form Chromium Carbines which causes intergranular Corrosion.

So it will be a question of copying the original that's made of Cast Iron (that he can no longer get), and welding it together...

Trouble is, I don't know if this new Dynasty 300DX Runner Can Handle it...

The Pieces will be 2" Wide X 1/2" Thick, and about 17" Long. It forms a box, and then will have the pieces in-between about 3/4" apart... Approximately 11 Bars...

If I can't TiG it... Should I, Could I use the Stick Welding Option on the Machine... And will That handle it?

Many Thanks, Tony
    Miller Dynasty 300DX Runner
    Roadster BWE

the dyn.300DX will do fine

the 300DX should be fine for the 1/2" i don't have my calc. with me its in the shop so I'll double check and get back to ya if I'm wrong, but as a general starting point it's 1 amp. per .001 thickness when TIG'ing, as you are working with .250 you will be in the area of 250amps so the dyn300DX (a sweet choice by the way ) should handle it just fin.
    ..as for the alloy to weld it best leave that up to one of the TIG pro's.
    thanks for the help
    ......or..........
    hope i helped
    sigpic
    feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. [email protected]
    summer is here, plant a tree. if you don't have space or time to plant one sponsor some one else to plant one for you. a tree is an investment in our planet, help it out.
    JAMES

Comment

Uh Fun, he said his pieces are 1/2" thick, or .50", which equates to 500 Amps.

Tony,