Dynasty 200dx - Poor bead on aluminum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dynasty 200dx - Poor bead on aluminum

I purchased a dynasty 200dx about a month ago after a year of saving. I debated between this machine and a synco 250 for some time, but went with the dynasty due to the reduced input current requirements and all the extra features. Stainless welding is beautiful with this machine, but in the last few weeks I have started to play with aluminum. I am new to tig but catching on rather quickly. I am quite capable of controling the heat and establishing a good bead. My problem is this - The dynasty will not weld aluminum nearly as pretty as a standard squarewave machine. On 4043 especially, it leaves a grainy appearance in the bead. It is not as obvious when using 5356 filler rod, but it is still there. I contacted a miller welding engineer on this matter and he replied that the advanced squarewave produced by the inverter has an adverse effect on the silicon content of the aluminum and makes it stand on end on top of the bead! Thus 4043, having as substantially higher silicon content looks much worse than 5356. I asked why this is not disclosed in the product description and was advised that since it does not effect the integrity of the weld Miller does not feel it necessary to do so. My concern with this answer is that half the point of aluminum tig welding is the appearance that can be achieved. This is the reason I paid the extra cash for the dynasty. I can pick up the syncowave at work and run a beautiful bead, but the dynasty dirties it up. Does anyone else have this issue? Is the dynasty not a good machine for aluminum?

Something doesnt sound right,, it should be better on alum, it is way more adjustable. I am not up on alloys but I would want a better explanation from enginering.

Comment

put the machine on 60hz and see what happens.

Comment