building hydraulic boat trailer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• building hydraulic boat trailer

hey guys im new to this great site and have a question. In a few years i would like to build a custom hydraulic boat trailer kind of like this
    http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y63...welsmarine.jpg but i will design it different and use channel steel instead of the box steel. Now before you guys start with the safety issues, I just want to say i will not be building this until i have completed the welding school that i will be attending and have enough experience to build something like this. My question is, what kind of welder would you guys recommend using for building a custom trailer like this(max weight capacity will be about 20,000lbs)? Sorry for the long post and thank you for any opinions.

Mike

MIG would be the fastest and easyest for the project. TIG would produce some nicer looking welds but not realy an isue here MIG would be my choice.

do you intend to make it out of steel or aluminum, the 1 in the pic looks like aluminum. if you intend to do aluminum you may want to rethink your ideal of using chanel insted of box .

welcome to the site we look forward to bolth helping and being helped by you. this is a realy great site with lil to no bickering and generaly realy nice people that are willing to help and share tips with all.
    thanks for the help
    ......or..........
    hope i helped
    sigpic
    feel free to shoot me an e-mail direct i have time to chat. [email protected]
    summer is here, plant a tree. if you don't have space or time to plant one sponsor some one else to plant one for you. a tree is an investment in our planet, help it out.
    JAMES

Comment

oh ya , thats 1 sweet looking trailer i'm shoure it will be a realy fun project be shoure to share some pic's with us when you get started on it.
      thanks for the help
      ......or..........
      hope i helped
      sigpic