Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Is this welder suitable for me? Stainless Tig, light duty.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is this welder suitable for me? Stainless Tig, light duty.

Hi, I'm hoping I can get some shopping tips. I'm new at TIG welding, but can handle gas welding and brazing well enough, I just want to buy a machine capable of what I need it for.
    I'll be TIG welding mild steel, but also polished stainless up to 16Ga. and want something that can make a join that I can polish out without too much bother. I've been told that finding a welder capable of adjusting post-flow, pulse etc. will really help with my stainless work especially if it's polished and I don't want it to warp too much, but I just don't have the budget for a new machine. I'm not doing all-day production work, just short joins like box-folding corner beads, short run stuff so I don't think I need a gun chiller.
    I've seen machines come up like older Syncrowave units that are in my budget, but don't really know what to look for. Yes, I'm aware that all the accessories will add up, and fair point, but I want to find the right unit to start with. Thanks for any advice.

I don't think you could go wrong with a Syncrowave. Though this is a Miller site, there may be some new import machines that would fit your budget (someone on here just posted about a Primeweld, they seem to have a good reputation elsewhere) and do what you need. Most any Tig welder will have the power you need for 16ga.

Comment

Thank you John, I guess my question pertains specifically to the adjustability for welding ornamental sheet stainless with a minimum of distortion and what I should be looking for that has that adjustability (or how much control is really needed). The power problem is as you say pretty easy to solve. Cheers.

Comment