Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pulse MIG Parameter

Hello,
    I am a welding engineer, and I am looking for information on Miller pulsed settings. We use Invision 456, XMT450 with S64M wire feeder. We weld mid steel with 1.2mm wire and Ar+O² gas. Our material thicknesses are about 2.5 to 4 mm, and mainly weld fillet welds. The parameters proposed by Miller are not entirely suitable for our production. I want to adjust the parameters correctly by seeking to reduce the too strong energies which tend to cause the drilling of our parts.
    Would anyone be able to share what are the rules of calculation that allow to keep a good balance between MPM / Apk / Abk / Vpk / PPS / PWms?
    Are the Miller’s settings designed for one droplet per pulse transfer?
    Thank you very much in advance for your help.

Lau, it's probably best to call Miller Tech and discuss with an Applications Engineer. They may even have a program or parameters that could work for you. Especially once you get into the custom settings for PPS, Pulse Width, Peak and Background Amps, you can end up anywhere in the spectrum of globular transfer to multiple droplet transfer per pulse. There are some general guidelines in the user manuals, but an Applications Engineer will probably save you a lot of hassle.

Comment

Lau, if you don’t mind let me know what you find out. I called Miller last week and talked to a guy and he wasn’t helpful. He stated that he didn’t have any information except what was in the manuals.
      Miller Syncrowave 250 DX
      Miller Dynasty 200 DX
      Miller XMT 350 CC/CV Autoline
      Miller Millermatic 252
      Miller Thunderbolt 225 AC/DC
      Miller LMSW-52T
      Miller AlumaPro 25’
      Miller Spoolmatic 30A
      Miller 3045 FC Wirefeeder
      Miller XR-S
      Miller Optima
      Smith Little Torch
      Victor Journeyman Torch
      Hypertherm 45

Comment