Toothed blade on chopsaw

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Toothed blade on chopsaw

I was watching a video and saw for the first time a carbide toothed blade cutting steel. 2 questions. 1. When did it become possible to use carbide blades on steel? 2. Is the carbide on a steel cutting blade different or harder than a woodworking blade?

1. 1963...(according to the interweb)
    2. No idea.

Comment

I keep the cut well lubed and have been amazed at how long the blade lasts. I’m a hobbyist, not in production, but the performance and durability is impressive.

Comment

Carbide has been used on various metal lathe and milling machine inserts/cutters/etc since the 1920s, so it's not a new concept. I don't know if the carbide insert material is different than on a woodworking blade but the saws themselves run much slower and the tooth size and count are very different. There are also different blades for thin steel, thick steel, aluminum, etc. You can cut wood with any of them but most leave a rougher edge and take a bigger kerf.

A while back I bought an Evolution Evosaw S380CPS and love it. Now I only use the bandsaw on really big stuff or harder steels like spring steel, tool steel, etc.

Comment

We cut HSS tool blanks with a Carbide saw
          Bob Wright

Comment

The carbide is not really any different, the profile is what is different for steel. Don’t buy a blade and put it in your abrasive saw though, needs a special saw.

Comment