Tig welding thin aluminum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tig welding thin aluminum

Hello. I’m new to aluminum tig welding but have a bit of experience steel tig welding. I have a miller diversion 180. The thickness of aluminum is about 0.06”. I’m using 45 amps with about 18 cfh of pure argon. The tungsten is 1/16 pure tungsten. I’m having an issue both getting a puddle started as well as getting a good finish on the beads.

I can’t seem to get the puddle initiated without overheating the aluminum. Any ideas?
    I’ll attach pictures of my ‘welds’Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	194
Size:	3.79 MB
ID:	614121

Wire brush the heck out of the material, using a clean stainless brush used only for aluminum. Try 2% lanthanated tungsten instead of pure tungsten. Make sure you don't have excessive stickout. Grind your tungsten pointy with only a little radius on the end. If you dip it, re-grind immediately.
    Last edited by Bushytails; 03-17-2021, 10:27 PM.

Comment

What sort of cup setup are you using....style and size? 18cfh is quite a bit and would normally only be required for a big cup. Take whatever size cup you're using and double that to get CFH....so a #6 cup would be around 12CFH.

As mentioned, inverter machines and pure tungsten don't really work well together, so 2% lanthanated would be a good choice.

What are you using for filler rod? What percentage of cleaning are you using?

The general rule is 1A for every thousandth of an inch of thickness, so I'd try 60A, hit the pedal hard to get a puddle quickly, and then back off once you've moving along. If it takes more than a couple of seconds to get the puddle started you're putting too much heat into the piece to get a good finish.

Comment

What grade of aluminum are you welding? It may be that the surface of that material was been cleaned properly for welding.