Welder capability

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Welder capability

I’m a non welder owning noob, so be gentle. As I’m researching what welder and associated items to purchase to do work, I’ve noticed the material thickness that any particular welder can handle like 1/4, 3/8 or 1/2. Are those numbers the gap filling or material melting ability?

Thanks, Mike

I'm a welder-owning noob, and I know just enough to know that it's not that easy. You can weld much thicker material with multiple passes than you can weld with a single pass, and then there's weaving and all sorts of details to how much you can do with each pass. What you're welding matters a lot too - if you're shopping for a TIG machine, you can weld much thinner aluminum than you can steel with the same power. I'd take those numbers as a general "plan on using this machine for materials up to about this thickness with normal techniques", not as specifying any actual piece of information.
    Last edited by Bushytails; 03-11-2021, 09:16 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by VintageMike View Post
      I’m a non welder owning noob, so be gentle. As I’m researching what welder and associated items to purchase to do work, I’ve noticed the material thickness that any particular welder can handle like 1/4, 3/8 or 1/2. Are those numbers the gap filling or material melting ability?

Thanks, Mike