What a difference when you can see.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What a difference when you can see.

I've been working to tune-up my old Millermatic 35 and knock some rust off my mediocre welding skills. A couple good things happened in my practice today.

I have been perplexed about how much splatter I was getting and felt roughness of the feed wire running through the gun. So today I cleaned the liner tube, removed the recently installed Weld-Aid felt wire cleaner, recessed the contact tip back into the nozzle about .100 and cranked up the wire speed. 430 IPM, .035 wire, heat tap 5, 140-180 amps on .250" T-Joints. Much better results.

But I have 68 yr old eyes and I struggle with wandering off my line. I run a Miller Digital Performance hood so I just started playing around with weld shade settings. Normally I am set on #10, but after trying 11 and 12, I dropped down to #9 shade and shazam! I could see the puddle and the toe of the bead I was trying to follow. After that, I ran the best beads I have since jumping back in.

Now, I start wondering if a 9 shade is safe for MIG short-circuit?

Originally posted by FootSoldier View Post
    ...Now, I start wondering if a 9 shade is safe for MIG short-circuit?
    Short answer is yes. The hood is always blocking far more UV light than visible light, and will block the same amount of UV no matter what the visible shade is. The visible shade is mostly for your comfort as long as you can recover from how bright it might still be at varying amperage levels.

I don't weld full-time, but I do more than my fair share. I use shade 9.

Comment

I find it's a balancing act. Too much or too little shade can prevent viewing. If it's too bright through the hood it will also hide the puddle. I have cheater lenses in my hood. Helps with my near sighted eyes.

Comment