introduction

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• introduction

Hi all, I'm new to the forum and picked up an older MM185 on the weekend. Just wanted to introduce myself and am looking forward to getting some great info here.

Bill in Calgary

Welcome, Bill! Lots of folks with a lot of knowledge here. Are you new to welding?

Comment

Thanks Aero, I've been fooling around with MIG welding for a couple of years now. I had an old 90 amp 120V Solar MIG welder previously which worked ok up to 1/8" thickness. I set up a dedicated 240V circuit and decided I'd try to upgrade my machine without breaking the bank. I need to address some issues with the MM185 before I can get welding with it.

Comment

Post your issues and your serial number and maybe some of us can help. I'm not personally familiar with the 185 but there are probably others who are. Have you discovered Jody Collier's website (weldingtipsandtricks.com)? There's a wealth of really good information there.

Comment

Just tried to respond and the post showed up with a light green background and an "UNAPPROVED" stamp--never seen that before. Will see if this posts.

Comment

Welcome aboard. I missed the generation of the MM185, but I think I remember it was well spoken of.

Comment

Hello Bill. Hope you get your machine up and choochin soon.

I think Bob had a MM185 that he thought highly of. Seems like it at least.

Comment

thanks guys. I ordered some parts from my local service provider yesterday, should be ready in a week or so. I'll update you as I go here.

Comment

Welcome to the forum Bill!
                  A FEW OF MY TOYS !!!

MX Linux
                  LinuxMint

Miller Roughneck 2E
                  Lincoln Weldpak 100
                  Gianttech Arc 200
                  Victor O/A

Comment

Welcome!

Comment

The MM185 was the best machine ever.
                      Bob Wright

Comment

Originally posted by aametalmaster View Post