I don't belong here but...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I don't belong here but...

Help please! I make cookie cutters for my growing cookie business. I need a way to attach the ends. It can't be something that will fall into the cookies, like screws or solder or rivets etc. I'm thinking maybe a small spot welder. Maybe one of these? Any advice appreciated!

Most are spot welded using something similar to the machine on the left. Spot welding stainless steel is more difficult than carbon steel. Get the 230 volt version as it has more power.

Comment

Thank you Walker! I'm using tin plated steel. I have no experience with welding. Can I use that one for stainless steel too? What about aluminum? I've read that aluminum takes a different kind of welder.
      Do you think someone with no experience can handle that welder? Do I need protective gear?

Comment

Originally posted by Shirley View Post
        Help please! I make cookie cutters for my growing cookie business. I need a way to attach the ends. It can't be something that will fall into the cookies, like screws or solder or rivets etc. I'm thinking maybe a small spot welder. Maybe one of these? Any advice appreciated!
        Perhaps you can tell us how they are made, more specifically than the 'ends are attached.' While I can see screws and rivets being undesirable because of the projections, I don't see how they would "fall into the cookies," much less a proper solder joint. That said, in a production environment (you don't say how many you need to make) I can see spot welding being much faster than soldering when properly set up for it, but the equipment costs would be much higher. We need to know your economies of scale, among other specifics of the materials.

Comment

Here's some info from Miller on resistance spot welding (uses the machine on the left in your pictures). Agree completely with the 230v recommendation.