High Frequency Interference

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High Frequency Interference

Hi, I recently picked up a very lightly used, in perfect condition, Miller Syncrowave 180SD. I discovered a couple weeks ago while teaching my 17yr old nephew how to tig aluminum, the the high Frequency turns on ALL of the sprinkler valves on my property. My sprinkler timer is in the garage, semi near the welder, but separated by a 1200lb steel safe.

I made sure to ground the work clamp to a clean spot on the table, close to the welding. Has anyone seen this? Is there any shielding that I can do? My sprinkler timer is wifi capable so I can control from my phone, so I can't put any major shielding, it would block signal.

My electrical wiring is all correct, I am an electrician, 25yrs experience...

Thanks
    2- Miller XMT 304, with 30A Spoolgun, 22A wire feeder and Suitcase 8RC wire feeder.
    Syncrowave 180SD with pulse controller.
    Miller MultiMatic 200.
    Miller Passport Plus.
    Miller MaxStar 150STL.
    Hypertherm Powermax 1000.
    Miller Spectrum 375.

There's a picture in the manual about how to ground everything to try to minimize interference, but the easy fix might be to turn off the sprinkler system (either power or water) when welding...

Comment

Bushytails, turning the system off or unplugging it doesn't make a difference. It is actually inducing the voltage in the low voltage wiring to the valves.
      2- Miller XMT 304, with 30A Spoolgun, 22A wire feeder and Suitcase 8RC wire feeder.
      Syncrowave 180SD with pulse controller.
      Miller MultiMatic 200.
      Miller Passport Plus.
      Miller MaxStar 150STL.
      Hypertherm Powermax 1000.
      Miller Spectrum 375.

Comment

Are you able to shield the signal wires to the valves, or is it all internal. Wifi runs off a 2.4GHz carrier frequency, where the HF should be about 1MHz, so I would think your WiFi receiver (transceiver?) isn't picking up the HF.

Comment