1968 320A/BP worth restoring?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1968 320A/BP worth restoring?

G'day, first time posting. I am a beginner welder that has exclusively worked with a little 110v Lincoln MIG welder. I just bought a house from the family of a deceased racecar builder/fabricator and they left me his old 1968? 320A/BP welder serial T455934 in rough condition along with a couple of other tools. The earliest manual I could find on the miller manuals and parts page is for the 1973 version so I plan to use that as closely as possible. The power cord was cut so I am not 100% sure if it was wired for 220v or 3 phase (my home garage has three-phase). But, I plan to open the back and compare the wiring to the diagrams this weekend. It is sitting in front of a 220v outlet and I found an old 220v plug so that's what I'm guessing this is.

Question: Is this worth restoring/keeping if it turns on when I rewire the plug? I would love the capability that this machine brings, and I love old tools but this is new to me and I'm not sure if I would be better off scrapping it or trying to use it. See attached pics, came with multiple leads, sticks, oil cooler (I think), and some broken gauges, no pedal. My understanding is that if I can get it working these machines are versatile and bulletproof and much more capable than what I am used to.
    I'd appreciate any and all advice. Cheers.

Ryan Jones is the resident "Helga" person. Nice find..Bob
    Bob Wright

Comment

Thanks for the response, Bob. I will look him up. So this is the "Helga" I've been reading about... Cheers Lewis.

Comment

Just remember--Ryan says Helga is very sensitive about her weight! He'll be showing up here soon.