Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can I do pulsed GMAW on 1/4" carbon steel with 75/25 gas?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I do pulsed GMAW on 1/4" carbon steel with 75/25 gas?

I'm new to pulsed but not to GMAW. Had to sell my entire welding rig when we escaped yurrup, wrong volts/hertz. Just bought a Multimatic 255 and a bottle of 75/25. Now I'm reading that I need more argon in the mix to do pulsed. I ordered a bottle of 90/10 but it won't be here for a week.

Meanwhile, I need to weld up airbag perches on a truck frame. It's all heavy steel. Would 75/25 be OK for that? Should I not pulse that job? I was planning to let the Multimatic automatically configure volts, pulse, IPM. Never had such a nice welder before, it's a treat.

I watched a few of Miller's videos on advantages of pulse so figured I'd pulse most everything from now on. Maybe that's wrong....

Thanks guys

I would skip the pulse and weld them up. 75/25 is fine. Your machine is plenty for 1/4" plate if used properly by someone that knows what they are doing.
    MM250
    Trailblazer 250g
    22a feeder
    Lincoln ac/dc 225
    Victor O/A
    MM200 black face
    Whitney 30 ton hydraulic punch
    Lown 1/8x 36" power roller
    Arco roto-phase model M
    Vectrax 7x12 band saw
    Miller spectrum 875
    30a spoolgun w/wc-24
    Syncrowave 250
    RCCS-14

Comment

You may not be able to get it quite into spray transfer, but you can get close enough to really sink it in if you need to. But I agree with MMW, shouldn’t be any reason you can’t weld on a truck frame without pulse.

Comment

I prepped last night and decided to do additional triangulation instead of just beef up existing mounts. Plenty of room for trad GMAW beads now.
        Thanks for the advice.

Comment

I doubt I would have even thought of trying it with pulse. But I'm not in a production environment, either.

Comment