Does Tungsten brand matter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does Tungsten brand matter

Has anyone noticed a difference between different brands of tungsten? I was looking to get some more and my usual guy is closed currently. Didn’t know if there was a brand I should use over another. Currently use CK. Thanks.

I'm far from an expert, but I've had excellent luck with the Midwest Tungsten Service 2% Lanthanated tungstens I bought off eBay...have them in several sizes and have had zero issues. I've used other names like CK and didn't notice any difference.

https://www.ebay.com/str/midwesttungstenservice

Comment

I’ve always bought from this guy cause he’s local, but looking online I’ve come across a few different ones. I was looking at the blue demon cause I’ve had pretty decent luck with their other products. Also saw weld**** had some, but it looked like the CK case with a sticker slapped on.

Comment

I haven't noticed any diff, I use 2% lanthanated. At fabtech a few back I picked up a sample of Diamond Ground Products $$$ German wolfram tungsten along with a 20% off coupon. I haven't bought any cause I can't really tell any difference, not for 2-3x the price of others.

Was thinking of trying the CK layzr next.
        Richard
        West coast of Florida

Comment

I’ve ran the layzr and I really like how it performs on AC. Seems to be more stabile.

Comment

absolutely there are differences. but there are a lot that are the same with different labels.
            CK is middle of the road. Diamond is better. LWS stock (best welds or radnor) aren't consistent.
            Tungsten like any other material has to be made under strict control to produce consistent product. China isn't so good at consistent quality. good luck

Comment

Originally posted by Electric4Life View Post
              absolutely there are differences. but there are a lot that are the same with different labels.