Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can I safely power a Syncrowave 200 from either a Bobcat or Trailblazer?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can I safely power a Syncrowave 200 from either a Bobcat or Trailblazer?

Howdy all.
    I am a complete rookie here so go easy please. I am retired, and only a hobbiest, and I do the odd job for neighbors and friends now and again. I also have done some small paying jobs as well, and I do have my AWS D1.1. I have a Syncrowave 200, Millermatic 211 w/ Spoolmate 150, and a 375 X-treme plasma torch. I also have an air compressor. All of which require single phase 240V at either 30 or 50 A. I re-wired my garage with a sub-panel to feed my power needs with 2 30A and 1 50A receptacle(s). I am a retired controls engineer so I pulled my own permit and did the electrical myself. Everything is just peachy and I love the way I have it set up. Unfortunately, my wife has a job change and it looks like we are moving. Worse, it looks like we will have to rent for the next 2 - 3 yrs because she is also retiring. That means no 240V shop power of any kind for me ... boo hoo.
    My question is; Can I safely power my gear with a Bobcat or a Trailblazer? Does the 10KW Gen output have "clean" enough power, and the stones, to run my gear without drfiting to far out of frequency or voltage and fry my gear? How "delicate" is this Miller gear on gen power? At a minimum, I would want the ability to TIG 3/8th material and I think this would be a workable solution for me with the added bonus of allowing me to be mobile. I would look for something used, not too many hrs, maybe an NT or later vintage machine. Any ideas or constructive feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Give a call to Miller and speak with the tech support guys. Great bunch of people, and usually very helpful. 1-800-4-A-MILLER and ask for tech support.

Comment