Millermatic 135 vs. Hobart 190

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Millermatic 135 vs. Hobart 190

I realize I am on a Miller forum, asking about a Hobart, but I know there is a lot of experience here with different welder brands.

I currently own an Millermatic 135. I have been using it for probably 15 years. I am to the point where I need more power. I have been looking at the millermatic 211 but I just can't afford it. I'm wondering if I would be dissapointed going with a Hobart 190. My only real reservation is the tap voltage settings rather than the infinite type adjust-ability that the Miller has.

I am a hobby welder, only welding for myself. This is for off-road fabrication. I will mostly work with.120 wall DOM tubing but will be tackling up to .250 plate on some current projects I have.

Any input is appreciated.

I dont have any experience with either of those machines but, in my opinion, more power is better. You can turn down the power when you need to but, you can not turn it up if it is at its max power setting and cant go any higher. I have dealt with tap stick welders and tap mig machines in the past and I had no issues with them as I learned deal with their welding parameters at each tap setting. I would not hesitate on the Hobart since it is actually built by Miller and is an "economy" built machine by them. Some parts in them are not held to the higher standards as in the comparable Miller machines. Sorry that I could not exactly answer your question.
    A FEW OF MY TOYS !!!

MX Linux
    LinuxMint

Miller Roughneck 2E
    Lincoln Weldpak 100
    Gianttech Arc 200
    Victor O/A

Comment

Thanks for the response, actually you exactly answered my question, you don't have any issue with just having the tap settings on the voltage and that really is my only conern. I would love a bigger welder but at nearly twice the price I just can't justify the 211. I can get the Hobart right now for $669 while the 211 is $1300

Comment