Auto darkening helmet for outside work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Auto darkening helmet for outside work

I’m looking to buy a new hood, and have read some don’t work well if welding outside when it’s sunny. I do 99% of my work outside. I was leaning towards the new digital infinity, but have read a lot of posts where they loved the lense, and hated the headgear. I don’t need top of the line, as I’m a field mechanic, and welding is just part of it, but it’s usually minor welding.
    Thanks

Some cheaper hoods darken down just from the sun light. That pretty much defeats the purpose of an auto hood. One with a sensitivity adjustment will overcome that. Turn the sensitivity down a skosh or two and it’ll be just fine.

Comment

Originally posted by jrgreene1968 View Post
      I’m looking to buy a new hood, and have read some don’t work well if welding outside when it’s sunny. I do 99% of my work outside. I was leaning towards the new digital infinity, but have read a lot of posts where they loved the lense, and hated the headgear. I don’t need top of the line, as I’m a field mechanic, and welding is just part of it, but it’s usually minor welding.
      Thanks
      As Ryan said, the cheaper ones have no sensitivity adjustment and therefore, are troublesome.
      I have used Miller's for several years, inside and outside, with no problems.
      And yes, the headgear sucks. Apparently though, I have gotten accustomed to the headgear.

HTH
      Griff

Comment

I own three auto hoods. Two Miller BWEs and a Jackson EQC Executive. They are all over ten years old and still work great, and they all work just fine outdoors in the SoNV desert sunlight. I replaced the crappy original Jackson headgear with their new headgear (avail on Amazon) and it was a tremendous improvement.

Comment