Fuel tank draining/cleaning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fuel tank draining/cleaning

Hi everyone, I’m new to engine drives, but I bought a 302D that had been sitting for 4-5 years with fuel stabilizer. I drained the tank and the bottom is pretty nasty. Should I clean it out or just refuel and run?

Clean it now or clean it later. I would clean it now...Bob
    Bob Wright

Comment

Thank you, Sir. Any suggestions on on how to go about cleaning?

Comment

Fresh gas is an excellent solvent. Then dump it out, rinse it with brake cleaner and check it again.

Comment

Originally posted by ryanjones2150 View Post
          Fresh gas ....
          diesel?

Comment

I would probably use gasoline to clean it out. I’ve never used diesel as a solvent. I’m not saying run gas through the engine, I figured he just wanted to clean the tank.

Comment

If your gas and carb cleaner does not get clean enough try a radiator shop. The ones I know of can steam out the tank.

Comment

I also have a diesel (Big Blue 251D) that had sat for years before I bought it, and the fuel looked brown when I got it. I just siphoned out all the old fuel (I ended up burning the brown stuff in my Ford 7.3 PSD), put in fresh fuel, changed the fuel filters (and motor oil and oil filter) and called it good.

So long as the filters are good, a diesel will drink a lot worse stuff and run fine than a gas engine ever would...I don't think you need to go to any heroic measures here. It's not like diesel fuel has ethanol that attracts water and drops out of solution and rusts things and clogs stuff up, like modern-day gasohol does...

ETA: To restore the lubricity lost in ULSD and thus protect my injectors, I add castor oil at a rate of 200 ppm (1 ounce of castor oil per 39 gallons of ULSD) to the fuel for my diesel welder and the 7.3 liter PSD in my F-250. See:

http://cdn.intechopen.com/pdfs/38157...tive_fuels.pdf