ID:	605550Click image for larger version

Name:	20191018_170809.jpg
Views:	321
Size:	2.41 MB
ID:	605549Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20191129-144336_Chrome.jpg
Views:	318
Size:	490.7 KB
ID:	605551 I am new to tig. I have a 48 foot semi all aluminium flatbed trailer I am working on. I have the trailer on its side and have cut out the cracks. Time to fill it back in then plate over. Per the manufacturer filling with 4043 then 5056 (I think) plate over it. Main portion or the frame is 3/8 inch and flange is over 1 inch. Plate is 3/8. My Diversion 165 was to small so I picked up a perfect condition Syncrowave 300 from 1976. I'm waiting on the wp18 torch to come in. My main question is what acid or cleaner do I use between the plate and frame to make sure there is no corrosion? Thanks in advance. Click image for larger version

Name:	20191019_164939.jpg
Views:	357
Size:	5.14 MB
ID:	605548

I would just clean it up with a die grinder/carbide bit or an angle grinder where you can access. Pre-heat and start welding, any impurities will float to the surface. Then grind them out as needed and weld again. As far as plating over just make it is nice and clean and full weld so no crap can get in between. You may need to drill a small hole in the plate to let pressure escape when you weld it on. Then when cooled you just weld up the hole. Just my 2 cents.

I assume you will be welding the cracks from both sides? If not be aware that you can easily bridge the gaps with little penetration if you are not careful.
    MM250
    Trailblazer 250g
    22a feeder
    Lincoln ac/dc 225
    Victor O/A
    MM200 black face
    Whitney 30 ton hydraulic punch
    Lown 1/8x 36" power roller
    Arco roto-phase model M
    Vectrax 7x12 band saw
    Miller spectrum 875
    30a spoolgun w/wc-24
    Syncrowave 250
    RCCS-14

Comment

Heck of a job to start out tig welding on.

Comment