Dynasty AC settings - HELP!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dynasty AC settings - HELP!

Hello, first post here. Been reading the site off and on for a few years though...
    Anyway I mostly weld 304 polished s/st but have been getting into more and more alum with some of it being up to .375 wall thickness. It’s been mostly 6061-6063 tubing and 5052 sheet stock with fillet welds.
    I have been welding 20 plus hours weekly on Dynasty 280DX for the last 5 years and am mostly self-taught. I just purchased a Dynasty 400 to increase my capabilities but have not set it up yet. I have 3 phase 480 so power is not an issue.

So here are my questions in regards to the AC settings on the 400 -
    The material is 6061 tubing, fillet welds, .250 wall section with the welds often stacked on a vertical wall.

Could someone help me fill in the following blanks where to start to achieve my goal? I have been struggling on get the flow started and avoiding a gobbled up mess on the thicker materials... I have not tried Helium due to its crazy cost. Hopefully the 400 will provide me some relief.

EN Amperage ?
    EP Amperage ?
    Runnings Amps ?
    Balance - I typically run 70-72 on the 280dx
    Frequency - I typically run 120-145 on the 280dx
    Tungsten - grey band 3/32 under 220 amps, 1/8" over 220 amps
    Filler - 4043, 3/32" or 1/8"
    100% Argon @ 15-20 CFH depending on amperage
    Cup size 7-8 with a screen lens
    Last edited by JSKI; 11-22-2019, 08:01 AM.
    Miller Dynasty 400 wireless
    Miller Dynasty 280 DX wireless
    Miller Maxstar 150 STH
    Miller 350P Mig with XMR Gun
    Miller 375 Extreme Plasma
    Accurpess Accell 12' x 175ton

On heavier aluminum if you drop your frequency down to around 50 the material will puddle faster. I don’t know the science behind why, an old hand told me that some time back and it’s worked well for me.