Welding A2 Steel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Welding A2 Steel

I'm a beginner welder, and just getting into knife making. I recently purchased two pieces of A2 steel, 2 1/4 X 3 1/2 X 8", and I want to weld them together to form the main body of an anvil. I will be using them on edge, so the seam will be vertical and not horizontal. I would appreciate any advice about how to make this weld, and to approach this process. Specific questions:

* Should I heat treat the pieces prior? they are already pretty hard, and barely dent with a hammer. They also have good rebound. I would not be able to fit them into my forge in the welded state.

* Should I/how should I approach pre-heat before welding? I'm aware that cracking is a big danger in welding this. I have 7018 rods I've purchased for the task, and I have only a stick welder.

* I presume it would be best to bevel the edges a good bit and make several passes - yes? Should I weld all at once, or do one or two beads on different sides and then cool, repeat, etc.?

* Once I've welded together this main body, I plan to build a hardy hole onto the end of the anvil using mild steel, by welding several pieces of 3/4" mild steel then welding to the body - will that also be a difficult task with this steel?

In any case - any advice at all here would be most welcome!

No, leave them as they are.

Yes, preheat you should. Min. 150, to a max of 400. You goal is to prevent a rapid quenching. E7018 should be fine. I'd post heat as well and don't force the cooling.

Yes and no. Yes to a "V groove, no to a need to go crazy in depth or width. 3/8" deep, 60degrees open, three passes. The important is the preheat and your ability to lay a bead. Yes, weld all at once. Preheat, tack weld to align, tack weld to support, grind out the alignment tacks and start welding, grind tacks as you go, and yes to balance the weld contraction by doing one side then the other.