Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bird-nesting on stainless MIG wire

Hello all, Long time no chat!

Anyways, I have been using my Hobart 190 for several years without much issue (I know not a Miller, but Miller parts at least interchange lol). Recently I ran a 2lb spool of .030" ER308L through the machine it has been giving me nothing but problems. I would be running a bead, then suddenly the wire will fold at the feeder wheels - making it so I would have to cut the wire and waste what's in the torch lead, but worse than that, stop the job and take that time from welding. I am not sure if my local vendor changed suppliers, but have been using the same location for about 11yrs (wire brand is weldcote metals, never really paid attention to previous spools' brands).

No matter how I adjust the tension/speed/heat, it would weld for about 5-10min, then jam up - driving me crazy. I have never been so happy to see the end of a spool!

Any insight?

Thanks,

-J
    J.Caraher
    Wide Open Throttle Technologies (WOT-Tech), Pompano Beach FL
    Miller Sync 300,Hobart 190
    RogueFab pneumatic, Hossfeld Manual
    Kitamura CNC, Bridgeport 2j
    TunerPRO, HPTuners, AEM, Megasquirt, DynoJet
    NASA Racing Official/Driver

YouTube Link, Instagram Link, FaceBook Link

Something might be in the liner.

Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.net/
    MM252
    MM211
    Passport Plus w/Spool Gun
    TA185
    Miller 125c Plasma 120v
    O/A set
    SO 2020 Bender
    You can call me Bacchus

Comment

Is running stainless wire new for you or is the same wire you’ve been running for years?

Comment

In order of likelyhood
        Bad tip since it takes time for the problem to happen, Argon has little cooling property
        Needs a new liner

Comment

To weld five or six minutes is a long time, sounds like something is getting hot and seizing up, the only thing that stays in the heat five or six minutes of welding is the tip, try a one size bigger tip. .