251 wire feeder

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 251 wire feeder

Hello I'm new to this and I bought a millermatic 251 not running put a power cord on it and the fan comes on and I get a hot smell where do I start the diagnosis thank you

Fan comes on as soon as I flip the switch nothing else

Comment

Model NUMBER
      Serial NUMBER
      Made by "Miller Electric"
      or Miller?

Comment

Serial number LC620568
        millermatic 251

Comment

Open it up and look for something getting hot.

Comment

Try opening up welder and use a digital temperature gun to scan the boards and wires to find out where the unwanted heat is coming from.

Comment

I can't say I remember my 2003 model 251 fan staying on all the time.

https://forum.millerwelds.com/forum/...-fan-on-demand

Comment

Originally posted by tackit View Post
                I can't say I remember my 2003 model 251 fan staying on all the time.

https://forum.millerwelds.com/forum/...-fan-on-demand
                You are prob right.
                Bob Wright

Spool Gun conversion. How To Do It. Below.
                http://www.millerwelds.com/resources...php?albumid=48

Comment

I've opened it up and and done slot of looking on the internet. I think I found the rectifier bad so I have that ordered not sure if that is all that is wrong still going to test other components

Comment

I hope you found the problem, many times there is a series of problems which go undetected but are part of the problem.

Comment

Finally got back to the 251 put new electronics on the rectifier and had the circuit card rebuilt now seems to work other than no digital readout. Not sure what to check next

Comment

Interesting that is. (me...looking at a board) I wonder what that thing does? ( what I'd hope for an answer) "Oh that thing, that's the chip of power that lights the read out on a board"... (me) " Coooool.".

You find it do point it out, I'm curious to see what one looks like.

Comment