porosity

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• porosity

Hello Everyone, So I am very new to this sight but need help it seems, So we
    are welding up some round 12ga A1011 sheet metal round tanks here,. they are butt welds as you can see or can't see in pics. With 90/10 gas we were getting pin holes so we tried 92/8 and it was a lot worse and then we went to 85/5 and it is much better, However there is occasionally still some small holes in the weld. The bottom of the tank connects to a 3/8 ring A36 and using the 85/5 gas we are getting very very small holes in this weld, what could be the cause? third pic shows the groove we cut for prep before welding. Any help will be appreciated, Hopperman

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190517_093104.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	29.7 KB
ID:	597185Click image for larger version

Name:	20190517_093126.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	23.5 KB
ID:	597187Click image for larger version

Name:	20190517_103810.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	25.6 KB
ID:	597188Click image for larger version

Name:	20190517_093447.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	39.5 KB
ID:	597186

I have a couple of offerings on the matter. Shielding gas flow isn't offering adequate coverage, nozzle size could be to small and with too long of stick out your sucking in air. 26 Volts is in the spray transfer range, 450 seems high for WFS but who's to say if your not there doing? It could also be from the Anti splatter MIG dip? Check for gas leaks, some might suggest a bad gas cylinder (?), or windy shop conditions?
    Me...I lean to think it's a operator issue?

Name:	166411-5bc569fc9260adf2d36db95dbcabd5b9.jpg.png
Views:	90
Size:	91.4 KB
ID:	597190

Name:	or_this_from_aws.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	28.8 KB
ID:	597191 But what do I know? What's your gas flow set to, what does the nozzle size offer for coverage, is the tip recessed to compensate for stick out?

Comment