Newbie Welding patterns

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie Welding patterns

Hi i am completely new to welding and dont have any type of training other then messing around in my garage. I own a fairly new millermatic 211 and want to learn how to mig. So i been watching videos and reading on these different pattern techniques that people use when welding. The techniques i am referring to is the cursive e, circles, etc..

So when i set my welder to the recommended settings for my material thickness it seems to feed really fast. When i watch videos of people performing these patterns it seems like they are taking their time. I have tried turning down the feed rate quite a bit but then i just get a lot of popping and doesnt maintain an arc. Do i need to turn down both voltage and feed rate to allow time to perform these patterns while welding? Also, wouldnt turning down the voltage settings and feed rate affect the amount of penetration? I don't get how people take their time laying these beads down.

What are you trying to weld?
    also in what position? Flat, horizontal, vertical?
    www.silvercreekwelding.com

Miller Trailblazer 325 efi
    Miller extreme 12vs
    Thermal arc 186 ac/dc
    Lincoln power wave 455m/stt with 10m dual feeder

Comment

Are you paying attention to the stick out ? That is how much wire you have sticking out of the gun . Watch some welding tips& tricks videos by Jody

Comment

I find the recommended settings a touch fast for arc manipulation. If you try a straight drag, I think you'll see it even out a bit.

Having said that, I generally don't do a straight drag or push either. What you need to work on is setting the machine yourself. You need to calculate wire feed speed and voltage yourself. Pretty soon, you'll be able to just look at what you're welding and set the machine really close to start off, then dial it in from there.