Shop/Mobile welding

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shop/Mobile welding

Hey all, Im new to the boards here. After a little searching, I've come to ask for some help/advice. I'm starting up a shop/mobile welding company and trying to figure out what machines to get. I have a Diversion 180 and a Mig 140 currently and trying to figure out what to add for the mobile side is driving me in circles.
    Bobcat 225? 250? And keep my current shop setup?
    Fusion 160 and transfer my Tig/Mig between truck and shop?
    Multimatic 220? ____ Generator?

I'm just starting out with the business and hoping to grow it into my full time job, I want a setup that is sustainable for growing with, but not an unlimited budget. Any thoughts and tips on what direction to go with it?

Thanks,
    Walker

I don't do mobile so can't help with that, but I am curious as to why you want to do mobile work? Do you see more opportunity then staying in a shop?
    Last edited by Ltbadd; 03-29-2019, 05:41 PM.
    Richard

Comment

Who do you expect your typical customers to be, and what type of jobs do you expect?

When I did it years ago, I went with the Miller Trailblazer series, at that time it was the Model 301G. I really liked that machine, and found it far superior in arc quality and its generator system is set up that you get full auxiliary power no matter what the weld settings are, something the Bobcat didn't have. It was also easier to use remotes and external feeders.

In addition to money, are you on a weight budget?

Comment

Keeping in mind that I do not weld for a living........although I do weld allot within my personal business needs which is centered around my Trucking Company that hauls construction materials.