Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Syncrowave 200 HF problem

Hello everyone,

I am having a problem with my machine, and hoping someone on here can help steer me in the right direction. Let me try and give y'all the condensed version....

Bought the machine brand new from IOC 10+ years ago, (don't recall the exact age) and had no issues at all for several years. Four years ago, I started having intermittent HF issues and other odd happenings. I posted here, got a few suggestions, but the problem didn't seem to be any of the things suggested. (please see that post if you want more details). So many things were acting goofy, I took a leap of faith, bought the $600 main control board hoping it was the problem, and it fixed it! I posted my results in case someone else had the same issues.

I am a home hobbyist, and often go months at a time without using it (work, work, and more work). It has worked fine for the last 4 years with no problems. Last time I used the machine was just before Christmas, and it worked fine. Went out to the shop on Sunday, and no HF start at all. This problem is different from the problem I had last time. Before I had intermittent/bad HF, weird displays, and run on arcs and post flow. Now I have zero HF. Welder works fine in DC + / -, but no AC HF at all. I can get the arc to initiate by touching work piece but of course, with no HF it won't stay. It seems I have a HF start (or whatever makes it go) problem.

I have checked everything I know to check.

Tried the following with no change:

Swapped foot pedal for hand control
    Swapped torches
    Cleaned, dressed, and gapped points
    Removed main control board, but didn't see any obvious damage or burned spots
    Cleaned / inspected connections
    Verified 240 power at plug
    No major dust, corrosion, or similar

Prayed, cursed, and did a rain dance....all not solving problem.