Welding smaller pipe.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Welding smaller pipe.

I have found myself out of my comfort zone welding smaller pipe. 3/4" to 1 1/4" sch 40. I can not seem to pick up my travel speeds fast enough to not "grey" the weld. What are some of you guys favorite tools to fit this small stuff and weld it? I am just a hobbyist but if I'm going to continue this headache I need some tooling. Lay it on me. I am using tig. 3/32 tungsten, 3/32 70-6 filler, about 100 amps, 20 cfh on the argon. Seems like I stall out with slow travel speeds and staying comfortable. Definitely out of my realm of "straight line plate fabrication" . Thanks.
    Last edited by sledsports; 01-29-2019, 03:10 PM.
    Dynasty 400 wireless
    Coolmate 3.5
    Sw320 speedway
    Ck flex lock 230
    4 victor flow meters
    2 Flametech Duel flowmeters
    2 genuine miller torch buttons
    A$$ loads of tungsten
    XMT 350 CC/CV
    S74DX feeder
    Stick leads from here to China
    A30 Spool gun
    WC24
    Langmuir crossfire hobby table
    Everlast powerplasma 100 w hypertherm torch
    Harris O/A
    Pet raccoon
    I'm just a peckerwood in the boonies with fancy welding equipment

Not an expert here, but I will comment that smaller dia is always more difficult, you have to constantly change the torch angle (compared to larger dia pipe) while progressing with the weld.

Certainly practice is key, no secret about that.

Hope someone with more hands on will join in.
    Richard

Comment

Maybe some pictures or an explanation of what your doing would help. Butt joints or fillets? Amperage doesn't seem too bad maybe a bit hot. Try go down a bit and see if that helps. A large cup like a #12 may help a bit. Its a must when doing small stainless like that but usually mild is ok with a #8. Other than that practice, practice, practice lol
      www.silvercreekwelding.com

Miller Trailblazer 325 efi
      Miller extreme 12vs
      Thermal arc 186 ac/dc