Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Help With Weld Settings - Aluminum Pulse MIG on D-74 Mpa plus w/ XMT 350 power source

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help With Weld Settings - Aluminum Pulse MIG on D-74 Mpa plus w/ XMT 350 power source

I have a newly set up Miller XMT 350 Mpa power source with a D-74 Mpa Plus feeder. I am using the push-pull XR AlumaPro Plus gun to weld some 1/8" thick aluminum fillet and butt joints via spray transfer. I am somewhat new to aluminum MIG and very new to all the complexities that this set up offers (start sequence parameters, run-in, crater settings, pulse characteristics). I am overwhelmed with all the features and menus to play with...

I am having lots of problems with burn-back while welding. It seems no matter how high or low I set the wire feed speed, or arc length I am having persistent issues. I am used to adjusting volts and WFS with conventional MIG processes, so I guess Im not completely understanding how to resolve this issue when trying to use Pulsed MIG. It seems with pulsed MIG you dont adjust voltage you adjust arc length (and with a longer arc length the higher the voltage right?) I've wasted so much wire, contact tips, and worst of all time re-feeding the wire into the gun every time it burn-back and birds nests. To say I'm frustrated is an understatement.

I must be doing something completely wrong here, and I cant find much information from others about trial and error with this setup. What would be some settings that I should use to start out with and tweak to my liking. Please share your thoughts if you have a similar set up, or have used one like it in the past.

I greatly appreciate your help.