Tubing to thin

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tubing to thin

I am a new welder, no schooling and no books, just watching videos on the computer, certainly not an experienced welder. I have done a few unimportant projects such as a hot air vent in the bathroom. There is an iron railing on the steps leaving my home. Four of the verticals are one-inch sq. tube which is totally rusted out on the bottom. I have searched for heaver tubes but only found 18 gauge. I need to cut the bottoms off of the railing and replace them. The railing, I’m sure is as old as the house which is about 50 years old. Each time I try to test weld the 18 gauge, I burn thru. I’m using 1/16th E6013 at 30 amps but I still burn through. I have 3/32 E6011 & 3/32 E7014 & E7018AC. my welder (My Amico ARC-160D Welder) will not do AC) I also have 1/8 E6011 which I know will not help. I think that I can increase the thickness of the tubing by laying some weld onside the tube. Am I crazy or will it work and if it will work which is the best of my electrodes to use inside the tubing? I only have to thicken about a half inch near the ends so it should not be too hard.

Welcome, Rich.

Welding 18 ga with stick is a challenge for an inexperienced welder, as you have learned. Don't feel bad--you've chosen a tough task for a newbie, and you haven't let it beat you yet.

Will your welder go down any lower in amps?

You could try thickening the wall with weld; might be hard to get it clean inside--6013 needs clean metal. But, you might just burn holes from the inside instead of from the outside. How about cutting some small pieces of metal and welding them inside?