Miller AEAD 200 LE need help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Miller AEAD 200 LE need help

Hi all, I'm a new member here. I seem to find my way to this forum pretty regular looking for answers, I usually find them... But I guess I'm stumped here. I'm not a professional welder repair tech, but I've patched several back together.
    I purchased an older AEAD a few weeks ago, it wasn't running and the guy really didn't know anything about it except that it wasn't getting any fire. After a few hours of flushing the tank, undoing what had already been done, and cleaning points I had it running. Great! Now on to checking the outputs, only to find that the outputs aren't producing anything even close to anything usable. (AC or DC, 110v or weld current) not even the weld speed 110v outlet. I have cleaned the slip rings, checked brushes, cleaned the tap rings, and more or less brushed every single push on wire connection I can get to. I had it producing 110v until I actually got a HZ meter on it. The Hzs were stupid high, so I backed the governor down to produce my 60 Hz cycle and I've lost the output on the 110 side. What are some of the other things that are common with these problems? And more importantly, how do I know what voltage should be where? I've fumbled through the schematic, but that's not exactly a strong point of mine. if anyone can point me in a decent direction I'd appreciate it.

Welcome! Hope some of us can help you. Please post your serial number so we can look at the right diagrams.

Comment

I used to have a bluestar 2E. If I remember correctly, 60htz was only obtainable with the weld/power switch in power mode (low rpm) and the fine current dial set to 10 or wide open. If the machine was in high idle or set to weld mode with auto idle off, the unit would be running at near 100 htz.
      Lincoln Idealarc 250
      Miller Bobcat 250
      Thermal Arc Hefty 2 feeder
      Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 52
      Torchmate CNC table