Need suggestions on how to get into pipeline

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need suggestions on how to get into pipeline

I’m new to the forum first time posting have read a lot on here tho. So I’ve been wandering what’s the best way to get into pipeline welding I’m from tn so not much around. I’ve recently graduated from welding school for stick ,mig ,tig in all postitions and tig and stick pipe I graduated as an honor student. Since I started I’ve wanted to get into pipeline I don’t know anyone or know anyone that knows someone that does it. Any suggestions?

Good luck with that. While I've never been a pipe line welder, I can see why you want to live the dream.
    They have that dream hyped to death with demand and big bucks but in reality few get there. Welding schools use it as a selling feature to boost enrollment and they make money selling the dream, keeping it alive.$$$.

Not saying you can't or won't, just be mindful of the path you take to get there.
    Making that large money comes with a risk. You have to buy a new truck, rig up a new truck, equip a new truck and then add in the business of ownership, taxes, licencing and insurance.

It's not just long hours rolling in the muck, sparks, splatter, black flies and skitters, making fists of money. Following the line living out of a camp or motel room is almost a life style. And it costs to play the game up front. Being one of the boys comes with risks as well.

So...how do you get to be that guy? Deep pockets, certification and training, moving or relocating to the hot spots and some well directed job search.
    As well, luck. Some times it's just that. One guy quits or didn't get back soon enough because his welder calved and you ready to go will be the new guy? You've been handing out business cards, buying lunches and drinks, schmoozing all for this moment right?