Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sell Multimatic 215 and buy Bobcat 225 or another welder/generator?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sell Multimatic 215 and buy Bobcat 225 or another welder/generator?

This may seem silly because I am a newbie welder and by no means make a living at it, but I travel most of the time in my truck and 5th wheel and I do not have a portable generator which will run my welder. This has led to me not being able to weld some things I'd like to.

Lifting my huge 9500 watt generator was a no-go so I sold it off. I've been thinking of putting a flatbed on my dually, and since I've also been having trouble with my portable 2500 watt generator have been wondering if I should sell the Multimatic 215, forego buying another portable inverter generator, and just buy a welder/generator that I can use for power and weld if I want to, killing two birds with one stone. I know it's overkill, but I'm looking at $1,200 for another Honda portable, and I could use that money and whatever I sold the MM215 for (like brand new) to just upgrade. Thoughts?

What do you want to weld? Is stick welding adequate for your needs?

Comment

Or mount an onboard genset for your RV. Probably be cheaper than a flatbed and a bobcat.

Comment

Buy the Bobcat and keep the 215.
        You're never gonna make money on welding equipment.....but you could become more versatile.

www.facebook.com/outbackaluminumwelding
        Miller Dynasty 700...OH YEA BABY!!
        MM 350P...PULSE SPRAYIN' MONSTER
        Miller Dynasty 280 with AC independent expansion card
        Miller Dynasty 200 DX "Blue Lightning"

Miller Bobcat 225 NT (what I began my present Biz with!)
        Miller 30-A Spoolgun
        Miller WC-115-A
        Miller Spectrum 300
        Miller 225 Thunderbolt (my first machine bought new 1980)
        Miller Digital Elite Titanium 9400

Comment

That's an even better idea.

Comment

Originally posted by FusionKing View Post