Miller Multimatic 215 Longer Cord

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Miller Multimatic 215 Longer Cord

I'm a new welder and lucky to have a 215. I bought a 230V 50' extension cord for welding behind a fence on the side of the garage. I have found that for very small things I would like to just outside of my garage. I only need about a 5 foot longer cord to do this so it's a pain to take out my big extension. The Miller has a special cord for multiple voltages so I can't just buy a longer cord and hard wire it into the welder.

Guess I could just use 120V but any other suggestions?

Thanks,

Mike

If you're comfortable with adding a couple connectors, you could cut your 50' into 10' and 40', just need a male and female nema 6-50 pair - you can always plug BOTH back together when you need the full 50'... Steve

Comment

Originally posted by BukitCase View Post
      If you're comfortable with adding a couple connectors, you could cut your 50' into 10' and 40', just need a male and female nema 6-50 pair - you can always plug BOTH back together when you need the full 50'... Steve
      Thanks Steve, but, it would make me cry to cut into my new $120 cord. I was on the same track as you thinking for convenience I may need to buy another shorter extension. Or just coil the big 50' one on the wall with a couple of hooks and uncoil what I need depending on where I'm welding. I called Miller and they do not make a longer cord for the welder itself. I knew this extension would be big but never thought it would look like my garden hose.

Mike
      Last edited by mbg56; 08-09-2018, 02:08 PM.

Comment

You can buy the multi conductor cord by the foot at your local hardware store. Buy what you need. Make it.

Comment

I'd just buy some raw cable, some ends and make a shorter extension cord for close in work.

Comment

"just coil the big 50' one on the wall with a couple of hooks and uncoil what I need depending on where I'm welding"