need TIG suggestions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need TIG suggestions

I am looking to buy a TIG and want recommendations. I see some are DC and some are AC/DC. Not sure what the difference is. I am new to welding and still learning. Thank you for any information.

What's your budget?

Comment

Around 2000

Comment

What metals do you want to weld? What thicknesses? What electrical outlets do you have available and what amperage can they support? Will this be for play (weekend/garage warrior) or for work to bring in primary income?
        HTP Invertig221 D.V. Water-cooled
        Eastwood MIG175 w/spoolgun
        Eastwood Versacut40 Plasma cutter

Comment

Probably weld 3/8 thick. Mostly steel but I want the ability to do aluminum. I am a DYI type and not a pro. But I want a good machine that I can grow into not out of. Thanks

Comment

Forgot. I got both 110 and 220

Comment

$2000 can go a long way, especially in the used market. DC tig machines are far more affordable. Add AC hi freq, the prices jumps substantially. Why dual voltage? Are you looking for a go anywhere, do anything machine. To me it's just not necessary most of the time and I'm not willing to pay for it, because it will increase the cost.

Steer clear of the Chinese imports, that's my opinion and that's from first hand experience, especially in the customer service department.

If you have the room, a means to move it and the power to run it, you can find some good prices on quality used, older transformer machines that will probably be around forever.

As for growing into a machine, something 200 amps or more, has quality low end arc starts and...this is a big one....you can get parts for at your LWS. Forge that relationship now and it will pay off in the long run.

A syncrowave 200-something sounds like it might be a good fit for your needs.

Comment