Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Airco Bumblebee 250 (MA)

Hello all,

First I'd like to thank you guys who write in and help people with their machines. I've read every post, ( I think), concerning the dialarc machine and have learned alot about this old work horse. A little about me, I'm not a welder by trade or any other name lol, but I can melt 2 pieces of mild steel together with increasing proficiency. (One cast vise repair under my belt as well). I was given an old tombstone AC machine and discovered that I really enjoy stick welding. Most of my welding will be projects around the acreage and I'd like to make some sweet sculptures too. I've been scouring craigslist for an AC/DC machine and finally struck gold with an old Airco Bumblebee 250 MA for $52 off an online auction. $50 of gas to drive and pick it up and I've got all the welder I'll ever need.

My first question is, can someone help me with what year this machine was built for downloading the correct pdf manual from Miller.

I downloaded the manual starting at serial number HF839494 stock # 901-502. This appears to be correct but my stock number is different. I've got
    serial # HG001905 and stock # 1341-0269.

My second question is what do I need to all clean up inside? It appears to have spent a little time outside or a least in a shop that gets alot of moisture build up from temp swings. I've posted a closeup pic of one of the connections showing pretty good corrosion but I'm hesitant to take them apart as it welds and I don't want to break anything if I can't get the nut off the bolt.

third I have what I think is a capacitor foe the fan, 2 actually of 4, with a broken wire. What's the purpose of 4 capacitors for the fan?