preferred rod for welding through galvanized

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• preferred rod for welding through galvanized

Was building a mounting bracket for another old junky machine (an old bench top drill press) I got yesterday. What I had on my scrap trailer was an old chimney cap, a 2’ x 3’ sheet of 3/16” galvanized steel. So I drank a big glass of milk, dawned my respirator and set after cutting and welding. I WAS NOT going to grind all that junk off there, so here’s what I tried:

Plasma cut all the pieces, then...

3/32 7018–ran very sluggish but just barely OK.

3/32 6010–horrible.

1/8 6010–horribler.

1/8 7014–holy smokes, ran smooth and beautiful, although a skosh slow. I knew I kept some of this stuff around for something....

What do you guys prefer to use when you’re in the unfortunate position to have to weld on some nasty, zinc oxide encrusted steel?

Dang. I've never done an empirical test before. Always just grabbed whatever rod was closest. Hold my breath, and get 'er done.

Comment

Same here, just happen to have those rods on the work bench, figured I’d see which one worked the best. May as well when all you’re doing is welding up some junk for yourself.

Comment

Silicon bronze if the weldment doesn't need the strength of a typical weld
        Richard

Comment

7014. I don't use 6010, 6011 or 6013 at all and 7018 and 7014 is what I was raised with...Bob
          Bob Wright

Spool Gun conversion. How To Do It. Below.
          http://www.millerwelds.com/resources...php?albumid=48

Comment

7014 is what is used on galvanized when building joints on a bridge. You can even run it negative polarity for better results on thin material.

Comment

I've removed lots of 7018 on galvi steel, thats all we were allowed to use. Just grind off the galvi that you can and weld away. The first pass will spit a little. 6010 will burn right through the galvi but removing the gavi that you can is always best prior to welding.